On Scandinavian Design

The concept of interior design has appealed to me for quite some time.  From an aesthetic understanding, the nuances of arranging objects and furniture in a room to serve a certain purpose is ceaselessly interesting for me.  Though I find certain stylistics to be icily cold, more often than not, there is something to admire in them.

Recently, I came across a copy of Golden Press’  A Treasury of Scandinavian Design.  In it, there are pages and pages addressing all facets of Scandinavian design, from furniture to glassware to jewelry, and most everything in between.  I would suggest that anyone with an even mild interest in the art of interiors find a copy, as it will certainly encourage an understanding of the creativity in the Scandinavian countries.  I intend to purchase a copy as soon as I am able.

While I cannot post any pictures of the book, I leave you with a work featured in the book-Edna Martin’s lovely wall hanging, “Grandiflora.”

Enjoy!

-Brad

(Image courtesy of http://embroideryasart.blogspot.com)

Leave a Comment

